Main Floor Bathroom/The Powder Room 

My main floor bathroom is my favourite of the four (FOUR!) that we have. When we moved in, all of the bathrooms were a little dated. Unfortunately, they are also one of the most expensive rooms in the house to update ( and did I mention how many we have! We could invite two friends over and all go at the same time!). We’ve started cosmetically updating all of the bathrooms, but this one shows the biggest change because we re-did the flooring. Hence my favouritism.


This bathroom is on the main floor just to the right of the front door when you walk in. Because it is the one most used by guests and visible from the main living areas, this was the first bathroom we changed after moving in.


We inherited some really unfortunate vinyl floors with this house, that had yellowed particularly badly in this bathroom. One of the first things we did was re-tile the floors. We used grout-able  peel and stick vinyl tiles and they are AWESOME. Measuring some weird angles around the toilet was the most difficult part, but totally worth it when I got to teach myself to grout!


This is the most accurate picture I could get. I feel like the tiles photograph much warmer than they actually are- in person they look more grey.



I painted the walls Blank Page by Beauti-tone and the vanity Rooftop at Midnight by Beauti-tone (the best navy). Our towels and mirror are from HomeSense. And I of course have some Poo-Pourri on the toilet tank.


I love the porthole window in the space but it does mean I had to hang the mirror a little awkwardly low.



Speaking of awkward, at some point the washer and dryer were in this bathroom so there is a large amount of empty wasted space behind the door. At some point we might move them back up from the basement, but in the meantime I’ve put a bench and some magazines here (because we have a lot of parties and nobody goes to the bathroom alone -at least the girls don’t) so there is a place to sit. This wooden bench was outside on the porch when we moved in but I painted it white and brought it in. The pillows are from HomeSense and match my towels well.


We also replaced the hardware (towel racks and toilet paper holder) which were both previously oak and not very attractive. We used brushed nickel in here and hope to switch out the tap to a brushed nickel fixture as well.

The little notebook and pen are so that guests (or I) can write songs to be played at our wedding while they’re in here so be sure to use that if you come over. Please note I have veto power and writing it in the book does not guarantee you will hear it at my (our) wedding.

Let me know if you have any questions on this little bathroom.

Linked up with the April Pretty Projects Party via Life on Virginia Street.

2 thoughts on “Main Floor Bathroom/The Powder Room 

  1. Pingback: One Year Later

Leave a Reply

