My Chalkboard Banquette 

Built-in seating is, in my opinion, the cutest thing ever. The best application of a built in is definitely a window seat, but with no obvious place to put one in this house, I went for the banquette first.

Our kitchen and eat in area is kind of L-shaped, so to make the most of the space, Max built me a seating area in the corner.

To make it even cuter, I used chalk paint on the back  wall so I can colour on my walls like a child.

With the recent light swap, it’s ready for viewing. Here’s the corner with the old light.


Max hung the new one for me. I’m not so brave with the wires and electricity.

newlight.jpg
And here’s the pretty new farmhouse fixture.

Now this little corner is (almost) complete. I still want to get some metal chairs for the other side.


Max built the banquette out of 2×4’s with a piece of pine on top. We used mahogany underlay for the sides and then trimmed it out. I painted it the same colour as the walls, Blank Page by Beauti-tone.

We then continued the oak trim around it to complete the built-in look.


I like to change up the chalkboard for the seasons. Initially I thought it would be a fun place for everyone to write but I’m much too uptight for that to actually happen, so only I’m allowed to have fun and draw on here.

All my pillows are from HomeSense. The table I stained and painted myself.


The candles sticks, wall sconce and jar are from yard sales. My sparkly beaded placemat is from HomeSense. The tree cookie came from the bush and the salt and pepper shakers were a gift.


My sticks in the jar actually light up so I put some pinecones in there to mask the cords and battery pack. Here they are all lit up, they were also a gift. Even Max said they were “pretty cool” so that’s a good sign. They are on a timer so they come on every night without me having to dig around in the jar.


This is one of my favourite areas now. I think it’s really “Pinterest” looking. Pinterest is an adjective right?


Let me know if you have any questions on this space.

Linked up via Pretty Project Party – Life on Virginia Street

2 thoughts on “My Chalkboard Banquette 

  1. Pingback: One Year Later

Leave a Reply

