Come Shopping With Me

This past week I had to go to Thunder Bay for work, which basically means that I had to sit through a whole day of meetings before I could run to my favourite store, HomeSense. I have a pretty good routine for my Thunder Bay trips, hitting up all my favourite stores late at night and then stopping at SuperStore for cheap groceries in the morning before I leave. That way I can maximize my home décor shopping time.

Because I love it.

HomeSense is the greatest place on Earth (aside from Target-RIP). You can find so many good quality affordable pieces and I could browse in there for hours. Today I invite you to creep on these unedited photos I took while shopping – because I know I’d love it if someone did that for me. Since I only get in there once a month, I thought this would be a fun thing to share with people who also may be wondering about new Spring stock.

(Also since I was travelling for work so I have no pictures of my house ready to post)

Anyways, here ya go:

1

When I enter HomeSense (this one in the Thunder Bay mall or the larger one on Kenaston in Winnipeg) I like to first do a lap around the outside of the store, starting with kitchen and around to textiles, furniture, bathroom, pillows, etc until I’m back at the front. Then I tackle the middle part, which has more decorative objects, knick knacks, storage items, you get the picture.

It’s a science, really.

Starting with the kitchen area (above), I noticed a great selection of marble items. Marble is very in style right now and popping up everywhere. I loved the cutting boards (if you look close you can see a pineapple shaped one, so cute) and the coasters and they are so affordably priced compared to at other stores. I ended up picking up a stack of anchor coasters for the bar area, because I love the marble trend, I love anchors, and I figured they would do a good job of breaking up all the wood in the area.

2.png

I also loved these slate and wood coasters (above – please ignore my ugly thumb). the slate made them heavy and substantial feeling and the hexagon shape was pretty, I just couldn’t justify layering more wood into the bar area.

1

This tray (above). I died. I love tree cookies regardless but stack a few to make a tiered tray and I’m in love. I couldn’t accept the $60 price tag but I’m regretting not picking it up looking at the picture now.

1.jpg

I loved these thick woven placemats. I wouldn’t use them for each place setting but a round one like this in the centre of a table would add great texture to a space.

1.png

These curtains with adorable pompoms or fringe edging are awesome! I’ve seen a lot of bloggers add an edging to jazz up a plain curtain but at these prices, you could purchase them ready-made! I got our living room curtains from HomeSense and I love how cheap and yet nice they are. Curtains in department stores are ridiculously priced.

1

Mirrors are an amazing HomeSense buy, they are ridiculously priced at any other furniture or décor store. I got all my bathroom mirrors here, and you can see why with the cute selection in just this shot. I love the ones with the rope to hang and in so many shapes and sizes!

2

I know for a fact that Pier 1 sells a very similar panel to this that is ridiculously popular and ridiculously overpriced. HomeSense wins again (its around $200 at Pier 1 I’m pretty sure).

1

This Moroccan style pouf is another great find, they are very popular right now. They had a lot of them in both silver and gold and these are usually around $150-$200. This one was $30 which is crazy if you compare it to say, my target pouf (that my dog destroyed and that was not a trending style) which was $50.

2

Lastly, I always check out the books section. It’s usually pretty sparse but I’ve actually bought a lot of my décor books for cheap here. I picked up this one for $8! They also had Chrissy Teigen’s Cravings cookbook (which I’m currently obsessed with) here.

I hope you enjoyed following me around being a creep in HomeSense. We should do this again some time.

I promise the next post will involve some pictures of my house now that I’m back home!

 

Leave a Reply

