Welcome!

Today’s post is going to be a short one about a little DIY project I whipped up. I had seen a lot of cute vertical “welcome” signs in my Pinterest searches for porch décor like the one below:


These are fairly popular and you can find plenty to buy on Etsy but I figured I could make my own more rustic version fairly easily and for fairly cheap.

It ended up being super easy and FREE. It didn’t take much time at all and I enjoyed painting something without a roller or spray paint can for once. It was nice to work on some hand-lettering.

I digress. Let’s get into it.

IMG_2184

I started in our garage with this lovely scrap wood pile. There is even some scrap laminate flooring in there too. I picked out a board I thought looked good and was large enough and I started to sand it a bit – just to remove any markings and erase the possibility of slivers.

It had a stamp but that sanded right off.
Once I was done sanding I went back in with some tools and roughed it up for that rustic look I love. I highly recommend hitting things with crowbars.

And then I applied a coat all around of Minwax Special Walnut, a nice warm brown.


I let that sit for just a little bit and then wiped it all off. I loved the distressing that comes to life when you stain.


You can see that a lot of the areas I had beat up took the stain a bit darker, which is what I had hoped. I wanted it to go a little darker still, so I dry brushed my favourite Minwax Jacobean just onto some areas.

And then gave that a quick wipe for any excess.


You can see the edges and distressing got even darker.

And then I went to Thunder Bay for 4 days so it had plenty of time to dry.


When I got back I opened up this white trim and door paint and started to work on the lettering.

I used a small paintbrush for this (aka a makeup brush – oops). Don’t worry I washed it.

I knew I wanted something more casual than the block lettering in the inspiration picture, so I did some loopy handwriting/printing and I like how it turned out.


The writing looked too new to me so I ran some sandpaper over it once it was dry.

I’ll do my nails tonight I promise.

Here you can see the fresh “o.”


Some quick and light sanding and…


Distressed “o!”

IMG_2263

And then I got excited to see how it looked outside of the dark garage so I ran and put it on my porch – I love the weathered look.

2264

It looks fairly orange in this photo but I swear it’s a beautiful brown.

2266

It looks great with my red door and helps to balance the lantern on the other side of the porch. I also added the doorknob bell (from Dollarama) for fall.

2267

Overall I’m very happy with how this quick project turned out. I haven’t sealed it with anything yet because I was too excited, but I might add a layer of polyurethane when I feel ambitious (or polycrylic to prevent yellowing).

2265

I will need to replace my doormat soon – it is looking pretty dingy after two winters.

And this new little sign has made me want this ridiculous(-ly awesome) furry wreath twice as bad now (below).

3076521_1

It’s from Pier 1 and it was $100 so I reluctantly left it behind but today it went on sale – THE DAY AFTER I LEFT THUNDER BAY.

Help me convince Max I need it.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Linked up via Thrifty Décor Chick.

One thought on “Welcome!

  1. Pingback: One Year Later

Leave a Reply

