Painting Pumpkins and Saving Money

You may remember the last time I was in Thunder Bay and I put up a shopping post there were a lot of pumpkins involved.

1

As much as I wanted to buy all of them, I like Max and I want him to stick around. The amount of throw pillows I have brought into our house is bad enough (43), and so I’m not sure he or our bank account would tolerate a million $30 pumpkins.

So.

I got crafty.

img_2250

I picked up a couple different size pumpkins at the dollar store, three larger different shaped ones and then a pack of little guys. They obviously felt a lot cheaper than the HomeSense ones, and the horrible paint jobs weren’t helping to make them appear more expensive either.

2

3

First, I used some hot glue to make sure the stems were attached well as they were pretty flimsy.

4

Yes my hot glue gun is pink.

img_2254

Then I took them into my painting room (aka the workshop in the garage) and laid them on some cardboard to spray.

1.png

This is the white spray paint I used.

2

I did about two coats, making sure to flip my pumpkins.

3

And then I used some black paint for the stems and to paint an “M” on one because I am still obsessed with monograms.

1

2

And then I moved them back inside. The white makes them look a lot classier and you can’t tell how inexpensive they are unless you pick them up.

3

You could brush on a chalk paint for a more rustic look but I decided to spray because #lazy.

4

Now I’m moving them around my house to find the perfect spot.

5

6

 

Such a quick and easy craft and they look super cute.

7

The little ones look pretty under my cloche with some pinecones.

I added some drips to the top of these ones by flicking my paintbrush over them.

img_2392

The felt leaf underneath is also from Dollarama.

Let me know if you have any questions.

2 thoughts on “Painting Pumpkins and Saving Money

Leave a Reply

