DIY Double Dog Bed

For a while now I have been wanting to make some sort of gigantic dog bed. I’m obsessed with my dogs okay.

So last weekend I finally did it.



I started with this five foot long piece of foam that I got from my aunt and uncle who own an upholstery shop. Foam doesn’t come wide enough so they had to glue some pieces together.

I needed the bed to be huge because my dogs like to sleep together and I want to encourage that cuteness.


Am I right?


So the last time I was in Thunder Bay I picked up some grey material and proceeded to cut it up, into pieces the size of each side of the foam as well as strips for each of the edges.


Then I sewed them together in order all inside out.


To finish I just sewed it closed and added some Velcro to the last seam so that it was removable. Max and I struggled to get it on but once we did it fit perfectly.


This is the corner where the material is tucked and Velcro holds it together.


The dogs love it. I also used some leftover material and IKEA pillow inserts to make the dogs some pillows because they’re spoiled.



It fits perfectly next to our bed and the dogs have been sleeping on it for about a week.



I am so impressed with my sewing skills on this and love the custom look and fabric choice.


You just can’t find dog beds in this shape and size. I love the way it turned out.


Let me know if you have any questions.

Linked up via Thrifty Décor Chick.

Leave a Reply

