THE CUT at Sears and More April Shopping

Last week I went to Thunder Bay for meetings, and I had barely any time to shop. It was just an overnight trip, and I had an evening meeting as well, which left just a few hours for home décor shopping.

In the little time we had, my mom wanted to take me to the upstairs of Sears, where a new section opened called “The Cut.”

img_4833

It’s essentially Sear’s version of Homesense, with all kinds of discounted items. Right now it’s just a small section of the upper level of Sears, and very haphazardly organized, but it was still very interesting to see them branch out this way and I hope this section expands in the future.

They had lots of cool décor pieces and dishes (above).

IMG_4834

They had some cool rustic signs like this as well.

IMG_4835

I was a fan of this dishware pattern with the blue marble-like swirls. I liked the teapot especially.

IMG_4836

And they had some industrial giant clocks I loved as well.

IMG_4838

There were also a lot of art prints on canvas, but none of them seemed too special to me.

IMG_4840

And they had this thing. I think it’s some kind of wall hanging artwork and it was HUGE. Like taller than me easy and made of some kind of ceramic? Super cool and I’ve never seen anything like this at Homesense.

I also checked out their pillow selection but unfortunately none of them were down-filled and I won’t buy pillows unless they’re down filled at this point.

I was impressed with this new venture but nothing can take the place of my beloved Homesense, so I of course still had to run there before leaving town.

IMG_4843

Above are some super cute pitchers for summer. The gold writing says “lemonade.”

IMG_4844

I thought this zebra blanket was interesting but certainly not my colour.

IMG_4845

This shibori print one is much more my style.

IMG_4846

Homesense also had these fake grass rugs which I thought would be so awesome on a balcony or something if you lived in an apartment and didn’t have a yard!

IMG_4848

I thought this ladder shelf with a mirror would look really cool in the big space in the basement bathroom but I’m not about to spend $80 on it.

IMG_4849

They also had a ton of furniture on clearance but I’m not really looking for anything right now.

IMG_4850

I always check out the puppy section and I thought these jerseys were a cute idea for Jays fans.

IMG_4851

And I was also so impressed with the lighting this trip! They had so many pendant lights and a lot were on sale too! The bottom right are cement lights and so nice a heavy. Not sure how much light would be getting through that shade!

IMG_4852

Seriously. So many pendants.

IMG_4853

They had a lot of big clocks as well, which I always love but have nowhere to put one.

IMG_4854

And I thought the artwork this trip was on point. I love this watercolour nature scene.

IMG_4855

And this hipster deer, how cute is he?

IMG_4856

And last but not least this canoe painting which was huge and very pretty. I ended up picking out a completely different art piece but you will have to wait and see that! Stay tuned for the next fireplace installment! This was a bit late getting posted because of all the work on the fireplace but it is coming together so beautifully and I can’t wait for it to be officially finished.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Leave a Reply

