Another New Vanity Topper and a Free Faucet to Boot!

15

Upon moving into the house, the main floor powder room was one of the first rooms we fixed up. This is the bathroom most visitors and guests use, so I wanted to make it presentable right away. We gave everything a fresh coat of paint and re-did the floor, but the vanity top was still left unbelievably yellow.

14

YELLOW.

16

Seriously it was not cute, especially with the new cool grey-white wall colour.

I waited a long time to get a new topper for this one because I want a very specific type of faucet (aka expensive) and it didn’t make much sense to me to buy a new topper and put the old gross faucet back on it?

9

But when I came across this square trough-like topper (exactly what I wanted) at Lowes on sale $50 off, I had to go for it.

AND THEY WERE ALSO HAVING A FREE FAUCET PROMO.

So by buying the topper I got a free faucet. Not exactly my dream fixture but certainly better than putting the old one back on while I save my pennies for the dream faucet.

13

Max’s first step in installing the new topper was removing the old one. Unfortunately the plumbing didn’t want to be disconnected.

12

The parts were all pretty corroded. So he changed out the topper but did not hook it up until he went and got new connections the next day. I’m not going to lie I have no idea what any of these parts are but he fixed it so I’m happy.

10

He just popped the old top off.

8

And set the new one on.

4

3

He had to make some cuts on the interior of the cabinet to make the pipes fit with the new sink but you will never be able to tell unless you stick your head under there.

5

He also had to remove the trim to get it on so we still have to replace that.

6

And once the trim is replaced I am going to have to do a bit of caulking.

7

My original plan was to paint the wall where the lip had been, but the more I thought about it a small subway tile backsplash would look really neat there. Since there is already cement board up, this should be a fairly easy project (in theory) and a nice little foray into tiling, so stay tuned for that as soon as I manage to borrow a tile saw.

We ended up getting a whole box of subway tile off the shelf at Home Hardware, which is unheard of in our town, so I was happy. Stay tuned for that project.

1

In the meantime Max installed my new FREE faucet and I am living with a stylish green strip behind the vanity.

2

The new faucet is just a brushed nickel builder grade special, but certainly better than our previous faucet. Max also reinstalled all the drawers I promise, I guess I just missed that picture.

Let me know if you have any questions!

 

Leave a Reply

