Coffee Table Makeover and Yardwork 2017

IMG_5229

On the last Saturday of each month our town has a “Curbside Swap” in which people leave their old crap on the side of the road and I drive around and pick up ALL OF IT.

I have a problem.

But sometimes I get awesome stuff, like this wood coffee table that I thought would be perfect out at camp. It just needed a bit of work first.

IMG_5226

Max did a quick sanding of it for me to start, just so the paint had something to stick to.

IMG_5223

I used My Favourite Sweater by Beauti-tone, because I wanted a neutral and I had a lot of it. I also planned to paint the cabinets at camp this same colour so it would match.

IMG_5225

I did a first coat, let that dry for maybe an hour, and then added a second coat.

IMG_5224

To finish it up I did a quick couple coats of varathane just to protect it. This spray version is super easy, and leaves no streaks!

IMG_5221

It is now in the cabin and looks great. I may have to post some pictures of it and the painted cabinets in the future.

IMG_5220

On the yardwork front Max and I planted our gardens, added some flowers, did some weeding, and added new mulch. You can see our huge post on yardwork from last year with before and after pictures here, and this year was pretty similar. My flower boxes on the porch are my favourite because there are never any weeds thanks to their suspension in the air!

IMG_5218

I also did a bit of a cleanup of the porch, and vacuumed the whole thing, changed out my wreath and added a new mat.

img_5242

Let me know if you have any questions.

Leave a Reply

